24.9°C 03:00 pm

Top names in Broken Hill sport

Tuesday, 23rd October, 2018

By Tyler Hannigan

Nominations are in for the first ever Sportsperson of the Year awards night to be held next month at the Broken Hill Entertainment Centre.

The best of local sport and its participants will be honoured on the night with six different awards to be presented. Those include the senior and junior teams of the year, junior and senior sportspersons of the year, services to local sports and the overall sportsperson of the year.

The nomination period ended just over a week ago with a flurry of late entries and most categories are packed with potential winners.

In the junior teams section, nominations were received for the West Football Club’s under 13, 15 and 18 teams after their premiership winning seasons, the Silver City Swim Club and the Broken Hill under 16 girls soccer team.

The senior teams section received just two nominations; one for the South League AFLBH team that went through the 2018 undefeated and won the premiership and the family indoor bowls team comprised of Jodie Hawke, Marnie Howe, Milton Hawke Sr. and Milton Hawke Jr.

Hawke Sr. also makes an appearance in the senior (over 60s) sportsperson of the year award for his success at indoor bowls, as does Marg D’ettore for the same sport.

The junior (under 18s) sportsperson of the year received a raft of nominations including multi-sport stars Hamish Inglis, Tom McRae and Bailey Beattie, swimming champion Kalyce Pressler, basketballers Montana Philpott and Zali Beattie, archer Riley Huxtable, footballer Eliza Cumming and indoor bowler Aaron Hawke.

As well as the current athletes, there is also an award for service to local sports. Nominations for that category includes Broken Hill Tennis Association president Peter Keenan, swimming coach Ricky Shore and 92-year old Linda Hocking who is the association vice-president for ladies indoor bowls in Broken Hill.

The main award on the evening is the sportsperson of the year and with a field of very deserving nominees, there will be some unlucky people to miss out.

Nominees for this award include boxer Darrell North, golfers Clint Jones and Jenny Stephenson, shooter Ben Grossi, local football superstars Jayden Kelly and Marc Purcell, cricketer Tobias Hack and tennis ace Patrick Reincke. 

Nominations also include some of the aforementioned names in the senior and junior categories if they specifically nominated so.  

The event will also pay tribute to the late Robert Schofield and money raised on the night will go towards palliative care. 

Tables and tickets for the event are still on sale. Tickets are $15 for adults and $10 for children under 18, with supper provided. Please contact Cheryl Meuret on 0427 021 918 to book. 


WHAT: Sportsperson Of The Year awards night

WHEN: Saturday, November 3, 6.30pm for 7pm start

WHERE: Civic Centre


© Copyright 2020 Barrier Daily Truth, All Rights Reserved. ABN: 38 684 603 658