24.9°C 03:00 pm

Team of the year

Saturday, 16th March, 2019

North skipper Tobias Hack has been selected in the BDT A Grade Team of the Year. PICTURE: Tyler Hannigan North skipper Tobias Hack has been selected in the BDT A Grade Team of the Year. PICTURE: Tyler Hannigan

By Tyler Hannigan

With Broken Hill’s local senior cricket wrapping up last week it’s now time to reflect and review on a season that produced some surprise results and stunning performances with both bat and ball.

The season reviews for each club will come over next week but today I’m picking my team of the year, the best of Broken Hill’s A Grade cricketers for the past season.

Opening the innings is the evergreen Bill Bergman who scored 282 runs from 11 innings and a highest score of 66 in his return to A Grade cricket this season with the Dogs. Bergman was also fantastic with the gloves, effecting 10 stumpings with a number of them off North’s seam bowlers.

Joining Bergman at the top is South’s Sheldon Hall who scored 235 runs including a breakthrough century in the first half of the season. As well as his batting, Hall took 18 wickets at an average of just 11.44 and was runner up for the League’s Champion Player award.

The man who beat out Hall for that award, North’s Codie Howard, is at number three following a brilliant all-round season that saw him score 438 runs at just under 40 and take 25 wickets at the ridiculously low average of 6.80 per wicket.

Central’s Jarred Paull was the other batsmen to finish with over 400 runs and he comes in at four. Paull scored a fantastic century early in the season but found greater consistency after Christmas with only one score below 20. His unbeaten 72 in the semi-final was instrumental in Central’s win.

Next is the ultra-consistent Matt Reavill proved to be a revelation for South this season, scoring 309 runs at 34.33, and while North premiership skipper Tobias Hack didn’t reach the lofty heights of previous seasons he was still very good with 325 runs at 29.55.

At number seven is Paull’s Central teammate Tristen Smith (294 runs at 22.62) and is another player who improved as the season went on with scores of 51, 29, 41, 34 and 30 all coming after the Christmas break. He also claimed 13 wickets with his leg-spin.

The League’s leading wicket-taker Jordan Vella picks himself with a whopping 32 wickets from 13 matches and best figures of 6-28 in the grand final. His top score of 23 not out also came in that match as he was key in delivering the Dogs a second consecutive flag.

South’s new ball attack of Laurence Hebbard (20 wickets at 11.10) and Nathan Waterhouse (20 at 18.55) are next with their captain Ben Franklyn landing the final spot following a fantastic season that yielded 22 wickets at an average of 14.45.

Most unlucky to miss was Central heavy hitter Adam Rhodes (231 runs at 21 and eight wickets at 12) and he’s the 12th man of this side. Magpie teammate Luke Neal was also close thanks to a strong finish to the season.

Mackenzie Attard and Max Everuss were the closest West batsmen but both fell away after Christmas, as did young bowler Nick Schofield. 

I picked my half-season team of the year during the Christmas holiday break and there hasn’t been a lot of changes. Bergman, Hall, Howard, Paull, Reavill, Hack, Smith, Vella and Hebbard retain their spots with Franklyn and Waterhouse replacing Attard and Ross Casey. Rhodes also replaces Everuss as 12th man.

The premiership winning Bulldogs are well represented with four players, South have five thanks to their bowling unit while Central have three including the 12th man.


Team of the year:

1. Bill Bergman (wk) North

2. Sheldon Hall South

3. Codie Howard North

4. Jarred Paull Central

5. Matt Reavill South

6. Tobias Hack (c) North

7. Tristen Smith Central

8. Jordan Vella North

9. Laurence Hebbard South

10. Nathan Waterhouse South

11. Ben Franklyn South

12. Adam Rhodes Central

© Copyright 2019 Barrier Daily Truth, All Rights Reserved. ABN: 38 684 603 658