24.9°C 03:00 pm

Marvels win AFLX

Monday, 1st April, 2019

Greg Conway tackles Lachlan Harvey as the West teammates battled for their respective teams on Saturday. PICTURE: Tyler Hannigan Greg Conway tackles Lachlan Harvey as the West teammates battled for their respective teams on Saturday. PICTURE: Tyler Hannigan

By Tyler Hannigan

The MJG Engineering Marvels came away with the win in Broken Hill’s AFLX exhibition held on Saturday at the Memorial Oval.

The event, held to support West footballer Judd Carpenter in his battle with Leukemia, saw four brand new 15-man teams do battle in a knockout style tournament with the sides determined by a random draw held the previous night. Jarred Paull, David Ruddock, Chris Jones and Justin Hoskins coached the teams. 

While the weather wasn’t conducive to attractive football early with 30km/h winds, games were hard-fought. A real highlight was seeing regular club teammates going against each other hammer and tong as their competitive juices started to flow. 

The Marvels won the title thanks to a comprehensive display against the Broken Hill Motor Co. Machines in the final. 

The Marvels team contained the likes of Jayden Kelly, Marcus O’Brien, Shane Dalby and Matt Nelson while Marc Purcell, Cohen Turner, Tyler McInnes and Nathan Greenshields were part of a star-studded Machines outfit.

The Ruddock-coached Marvels were in control from the start, setting the tempo and hitting the scoreboard despite kicking into a stiff breeze to the Central Football Club end. They then dominated in the second to run out a comfortable 30 to 19 win. 

A late goal to the Machines was lucky to be allowed as their coaching staff snuck on a few extra players as a last ditch ploy which was ultimately unsuccessful. 

Marvels’ Kelly and O’Brien found plenty of the football while Hamish McLean gave Central something to look forward to, taking a number of strong grabs in his first outing since a knee injury way back in 2017. For the Machines, Purcell, Turner and Greenshields were their best.

Earlier in the day, the Marvels qualified for the final with a win over the DP Destroyers in game one. The Destroyers got off to a perfect start thanks to a pair of 10-point super goals by Tom Ragenovich but the Marvels fought back late with a super goal of their own to James Bressanelli.

From there, the Marvels kicked away with the wind in the second half to take the victory.

In the second game, a tight first half gave way to a dominant Machines win over the TBGSport Canons. Turner, Purcell, Tyler McInnes and Keenan Ellis led the way for the Machines.

West young gun Bailey Beattie produced a brilliant individual effort for the Canons as he won the ball in defence, continued to run and got the ball back on the wing before launching a big kick for a 10-point goal.

Prior to the final, the Canons and Destroyers played off for third spot with the Canons picking up the win. It was competitive throughout but the Canons eventually kicked away to win 32-23. 

Max Everuss and Daniel Milne provided a highlight as Milne attempted to run through his West teammate but was tackled and buried by Everuss to have Milne caught holding the ball. 

Following the day’s play, a gala awards night was held at the West Football Club that also included entertainment and a fundraising auction. 

Marcus O’Brien (Marvels) was named the day’s best player, Cohen Turner (Machines) received the Judd Carpenter Medal as the most courageous player and Tom Ragenovich (Destroyers) was the leading goal kicker. 



MJG Engineering Marvels: Jayden Kelly, Clancy Payne, Dillon Gottani, Marcus O’Brien, Tom Rowe, Madden Paul, Dylan Harris, Nick Brown, Shane Dalby, James Bressanelli, Matt Nelson, Dylan Rilen, Greg Conway, Hamish McLean, Luke Lines

Coach - David Ruddock

BH Motor Co. Machines: Tyler McInnes, Cohen Turner, Marc Purcell, Brock Ellis, Jayden Sutton, Riley Schorn, Jake Trengove, Jordan Gilby, Hagen Grose, Lachy Jenkin, Nathan Greenshields, Aaron Hamilton, Michael Westley, Ashley Pollard, Sage Hocking

Coach - Justin Hoskins

TBGSport Canons: Codie Howard, Tyler Hicks, Jarvis Morris, Michael Andruszkiewicz, Keenan Ellis, Bailey Beattie, Chavez Hocking, Darcy Blight, Anthony Henderson, Jake Picton, Max Everuss, James Moran, Arlen Bird, Zayden White, Ty Andrews

Coach - Jarred Paull

DP Destroyers: Jack Picton, Tyler Tompkins, Jordan Vella, Adam McInnes, Bailey Shepherd, Josh Joliffe, Tom Ragenovich, Jack Roberts, Dakoda Hocking, Jason Masclet, Rhys Carman, Bailey Adams, Jayden White, Darren Zannette, Daniel Milne, Lachlan Harvey

Coach - Chris Jones

© Copyright 2019 Barrier Daily Truth, All Rights Reserved. ABN: 38 684 603 658