24.9°C 03:00 pm

North, Central dominate awards

Tuesday, 2nd April, 2019

North’s Codie Howard was awarded the Denis Watts Medal last night as A Grade’s best player for the 2018/19 season. PICTURE: Tyler Hannigan North’s Codie Howard was awarded the Denis Watts Medal last night as A Grade’s best player for the 2018/19 season. PICTURE: Tyler Hannigan

By Tyler Hannigan

Codie Howard has capped off North’s dominant year by winning the Denis Watts Medal as A Grade’s best player for the 2018/19 season at last night’s Barrier District Cricket League presentation.

North’s Howard was crowned the Denis Watts Medalist following a superb all-around season that also saw him awarded the leading run scorer (367 runs) and best bowling average (25 wickets at 6.36).

The Denis Watts Medal is based on MyCricket’s Champion Player points given for runs, wickets, catches and runouts. Howard finished on 772 points, 261 points ahead of South’s Sheldon Hall in second place.

Howard’s win further establishes him as one of Broken Hill’s very best sportspeople considering he is also a two-time Lionel Johnston Medalist in the AFL Broken Hill competition 

Howard’s premiership teammate Jordan Vella narrowly edged out Howard for the leading wicket taker award with 26 wickets for the season. Vella also finished third in the Denis Watts Medal standings on 491 points.

Central champion Jarred Paull showed he’s still got plenty in the tank, taking out both the batting average (326 runs at 40.75) and the best fielder which should be renamed in Paull’s honour given how many times he has received that award.  

Just as two sides dominated the A Grade awards, so too did West and the Warriors in B Grade.

Robins skipper Lachlan Harvey was named the Paul Rook Medalist following an outstanding season. Harvey finished on 599 points, comfortably beating out Warriors pair Shane Dalby (399 points) and Chris West (396).

Harvey took out the batting aggregate award with 249 runs at an average of 49.80 and shared the wicket taking award with the Warriors’ Tom Kennedy as both finished with 21 scalps for the season.

Kennedy’s teammate Ash Bates won the batting average award with 211 runs at 70.33 and Dalby got the nod as B Grade’s best fielder.

West also saw success in the Stage 3 awards as Casey Ferguson was named the Champion Player with 324 points. 

Ferguson, who played nine A Grade games this season, was brilliant with the ball in the Stage 3 competition and took out both the bowling aggregate and average with 14 wickets at the ridiculous average of 3.93. 

Ferguson’s West teammate Jonty Campbell led the way with the bat, scoring 255 at 51 to win the batting aggregate while North’s Austin Wilson pipped Campbell for the average award with 124 runs at 62.


Full results:


A Grade 

Denis Watts Medal - 1st Codie Howard 772 points, 2nd Sheldon Hall 511 points, 3rd Jordan Vella 491 points

Batting Aggregate - Codie Howard 367 runs @ 36.70

Batting Average - Jarred Paul 326 runs @ 40.75 (qualification 150 runs)

Bowling Aggregate - Jordan Vella 26 wickets @ 8.12

Bowling Average - Codie Howard 25 wickets @ 6.36 (qualification 10 wickets)

Best Fielder - Jarred Paul 


B Grade 

Paul Rook Medal - 1st Lachlan Harvey 594 points, 2nd Shane Dalby 399 points, 3rd Chris West 396 points

Batting Aggregate - Lachlan Harvey 249 runs @ 49.80

Batting Average - Ashley Bates 211 runs @ 70.33 (qual. 150 runs)

Bowling Aggregate - Tom Kennedy and Lachlan Harvey 21 wickets

Bowling Average - Tom Kennedy 21 wickets @ 5.43 

Best Fielder - Shane Dalby   


Stage 3 (juniors)

Champion Player - Casey Ferguson 324 points

Batting Aggregate - Jonty Campbell 255 runs @ 51 

Batting Average - Austin Wilson 124 runs @ 62

Bowling Aggregate and Average - Casey Ferguson 14 wickets @ 3.93


© Copyright 2019 Barrier Daily Truth, All Rights Reserved. ABN: 38 684 603 658