24.9°C 03:00 pm

Purcell takes the double

Tuesday, 3rd September, 2019

Marc Purcell was also named the Mail Medallist for 2019. PICTURE: Emily McInerney Marc Purcell was also named the Mail Medallist for 2019. PICTURE: Emily McInerney

By Emily McInerney

The dynamic on-baller for South, Marc Purcell, scooped up the Lionel Johnston Medal and the Mail Medal at last night’s awards ceremony.

The consistently hard-working player and captain took home his second Lionel Johnston and fourth Mail Medal.

Purcell won the 2015 Lionel Johnston Medal after a stellar season for the Roos, he was named runner-up in 2012, but his drive has placed him at the pinnacle of Broken Hill football.

It was a close count with North’s Jayden Kelly looking set to take the award home, with Purcell storming home in the last few rounds to win.

After the announcement, Purcell said he was honoured to win, but it was the individual success that drove him.

“It’s a good individual achievement, but it’s about the team as a whole.

“It’s still a competitive award, with Jayden Kelly putting in another fantastic effort.

“He’s a great bloke off the field as well.

“I don’t set out to win awards though, I go out and try my best and if it comes then that’s great.

“But if it doesn’t then I know I’ve done my best.”

Purcell said he looks forward to going out and playing with his friends week in and week out.

“It’s been a couple of years and a couple of injuries in between my last win.

“But it was great to get that consistency this year thanks to my work place; which allowed me to play every week.”

He felt confident going into the grand final against North on Saturday.

“I think we will have team success.

“I’m pretty confident if we stick with our preparation we will come away with the win.

“But North are not to be taken lightly.”

Purcell also thanked his team, coaching and support staff and wife and family for all their support.

North’s Rebecca Deer took out the Jan Corey Medal after coming in second last year.

She said she wasn’t expecting to win after only her second year playing football.

“The competition was fierce, it was a huge honour and a huge surprise.

“I was really nervous (during the count).”

Deer knocked out West player Phoebe Knell by one point to win the medal.

“It was so close this year and in the last round North were really strong as a team.

“So it was hard to know. Anyone could have won it.

“It’s been a challenging game each week, but it’s been fun seeing all the teams get so close.”

The mid-fielder thanked her teammates and said they were her family away from home.

“Thanks to the women’s team for the laughter and friendship, it’s been a blast.”





Auskicker of the Year CFC - Matt Molloy, NFC - Angus Stuchberry, SFC - Harry Attard, WFC - Spencer Norris

NSW/ACT AFL Auskick Co-ordinator of the Year - Justin Roberts (SFC)

McDonald Medal for the Under 13 Competition’s Best Player - Douglas Waite (South)

McDonald Medal for the Under 15 Competition’s Best Player - Kody Ellis (North)

Acknowledgement of Top Mossie - Douglas Waite (South)

Young Girls Most Consistent; CFC - Elke Page, NFC - Emmerson Lihou, SFC - Jordynn Arnold, WFC - Zianna Chesterfield

Frank Thomas Best Junior Trophy - Adam Slattery (South)



Clem Gillespie Trophy for the Under 18 Competition’s Best Player - Tyler McKenzie (South)

Brian Potter Leading Goal Kicker for the Under 18 Competition - Adam Slattery (South - 36 goals)



Women’s Leading Goal Kicker - Melisa Keenan (South - 23 goals)

Women’s Best Junior - Amber Evans (West)



Reserves Leading Goal Kicker - Jackson Schorn (North - 20 goals)

Reserves Best Backman Award - Ryan Davis (South) - Bailey Treloar (South)

Ray Giblett Trophy for the Reserves Competition’s Best Player - Leighton Raven (West)




Life Members

- Matt Garrick (North)

- Jayden Kelly (North)

- Jake Borlace (North)

- Rodney Stenhouse (South)

- Richard McLean (CMC)


AFL NSW/ACT Volunteer of the Year Award

- Heidi Drenkhahn (South)

- Krista Sutton (West)

- Steve Chestnut (Central)

- Lindy Robins (North)


Overall Winner of the Volunteer of the Year

- Lindy Robins



George Harris Medal - Jett Johnson



Union Best Backman Award - Ty Andrews (West)

Ally Johns Leading Goal Kicker - Cody Schorn (74 goals)

Mail Medal and Lionel Johnston Medal - Marc Purcell


AFLBH League Team of the Year

F: Trent Barraclough (N), Cody Schorn (S), Adam Slattery (S)

HF: Eddy Morgan (N), Rourke Turner (W), Nathan Greenshields (W)

C: Liam King (W), Marc Purcell (S), Quinton Beavan (N)

HB: Tyler McInnes (N), Hamish McLean (C), Michael Andruszkiewicz (W)

FB: Riley Schorn (S), Ty Andrews (W), Angus Collins (S) 

R: Mitchell Henderson (S), Jayden Kelly (N), Tom Rowe (W)

INT: Jordan Holmes (S), Matt Garrick (N), Michael Westley (W), Josh Hanford (C)


AFLBH Women’s Team of the Year

F: Erin Buttriss (W), Sasha Harrington (W), Indianna Paul (W)

HF: Paige Cuy (W), Sophie Palmer (W), Melisa Keenan (S)

C: Shelby Raven (C), Eliza Cumming (S), Amber Evans (W)

HB: Pheobe Knell (W), Abbey Stevens (S), Britt Tangey (N)

FB: Teagan Coombes (C), Courtney Garnaut (N), Natalie McMahon (N)

R: Paris Barrett (W), Kayla Williams (W), Rebecca Deer (N)

INT: Ash Forbes (C), Hannah Muscat (C), Sarah Burns (S), Shae Neville (S)


AFLBH Reserves Team of the Year

F: Peter Christos (W), Luke Reynolds (N), Jackson Schorn (N)

HF: Matt McKenzie (N), Aaron Hamilton (N), Craig Jones (N)

C: Anthony Crombie (S), Leighton Raven (W), Deaklin Langdon (S) 

HB: Ryan Davis (S), Adam Rhodes (C), Bailey Treloar (S)

FB: Nathan Agius (S), Nick Brown (S), Gary Edge (W)

R: Jayson Higgins (C), Alex Johnson (C), Jarrod Burcher (N)

INT: Lachlan Bell (W), Max Everuss (W), Glen Cole (C), Dylan Gottani (N)

© Copyright 2021 Barrier Daily Truth, All Rights Reserved. ABN: 38 684 603 658