24.9°C 03:00 pm

Team Of The Decade

Friday, 27th March, 2020

Jarred Paull has been named as captain of local cricket’s team of the decade. PICTURE: Michael Murphy Jarred Paull has been named as captain of local cricket’s team of the decade. PICTURE: Michael Murphy

By Peter Argent

To celebrate the past decade of cricket in the Silver City, after discussions with a variety of local officials and plenty of research and observations, I have selected my Silver City cricket “Team of the Decade”, 2010-2020, to complement the football side, picked last year. 

The Central Magpies won six titles in this period - including five in a row from 2012/13 - have five players in this team, including openers Justin Heath and Cameron Wells, and the skipper Jarred Paull batting at number three. 

In the middle order is Adam Rhodes, while Dave O’Mally is one of the team’s quicks. 

A seven-time winner of the Broken Hill Cricketer of the Year award winner, Paull - also an outstanding baseballer - is a consistent top-order batsman, a handy trundler, and a natural on-field leader. 

Paull is also regarded as the best fieldsman in “Silver City” cricket over the last 50 years. 

Heath had a standout season in the ‘14/15 campaign, when he made 416 runs at an average of 52, including a high score 103 not out. 

His opener partner Wells spent eight seasons in Silver City cricket, with highlights including a cavalier 119 against North, where he dispatched 11 boundaries and a further seven maximums (sixes), in an amazing 48-minute occupation of the crease, facing just 47 balls. 

Adam Rhodes has the capacity to play both as a top or middle-order batsman, and also a handy bowling option. 

Quick David O’Mally, noted as an accurate swing bowler started, had a significant impact in the ‘14/15 winter. Performances included six for 11 against West back in late 2017. 

From the North Broken Hill Cricket Club are the trio of talents, including precocious all-round sporting talent Codie Howard, recent SA Outback team keeper to Tobias Hack and spinner Jordan Vella.

In Broken Hill cricket, Vella, an off-spin bowler with plenty of variety, and is more than useful with the bat, has the figures of 6/28 in a grand final victory over Central in the 2018-19 season, where he claimed 32 scalps and had a trio of five-wicket hauls. 

A SA Outbacks selection in 2020, left-hander Tobias Hack has a top-score of 126 not out, having produced five hundreds in local cricket over this decade. His ‘17/18 season of 544 runs at an impressive average of 60.44 is noteworthy. 

A big-time performer, Howard is the most technically correct batsmen produced locally in the past couple of decades, and a more than useful medium pacer. He collected the amazing bowling figures of 8/22 from 22 overs against Central in a two-day game back in the ‘09-10 season, and a five-wicket haul in a grand final against West in 2010. 

The team includes three West Broken Hill cricketers headlined by evergreen veteran and inaugural Denis Watts Medallist, Paul Attard.  

Earlier in his career, Attard was classed as one of the quickest and most accurate bowlers in Broken Hill cricket and developed into a high-class all-rounder. 

He turned back the clock and played a significant role in Murray District Barrier representative teams performances in the 2015-16 campaign at the annual SA Country Cricket Championships. 

Attard noted as a dangerous hard-hitting batsmen, with the ball has replaced speed with guile in the latter stage of his career.

Matt Handberg is talented and crafty leg-spin bowler with good control, solid bat and an astute leader at West for a couple of seasons. 

Peter Christos is an accurate fast-medium pace bowler who skids on and surprises many with deceptive pace. He’s also a useful bat. 

The team’s 12th man is Dan ter Braak from North, despite only having a short stint in the Broken Hill competition.  

He’s a fluent stroke-maker who has represented the Netherlands in the World Cup and played cricket in New Zealand. 

With the ball he’s a talented leg spin bowler, with a well-disguised wrong’un.

Perhaps the unluckiest to miss out is South Broken Hill’s Lawrence Hebbard, an excellent swing bowler with strong control and ability to take wickets consistently. 

For the purposed of selecting this team, we look predominately at performances for club, the Barrier Association and with the Murray Districts Barrier Team at the annual SA Country Cricket Cup in Suburban Adelaide. 

Therefore, South Australian Under 19s and Second XI quick Tom Derham and Scorpions women’s talent Sam Betts haven’t been considered. 

Broken Hill Cricket - Team of the Decade - 2010-20

1. Cameron Wells - Central   

2. Justin Heath - Central 

3. Jarred Paull (Captain) - Central 

4. Codie Howard - North

5. Tobias Hack (Wk) - North 

6. Adam Rhodes - Central 

7. Matt Handberg - West 

8. Paul Attard - West 

9. Jordan Vella - North

10. Peter Christos - West 

11. David O’Mally - Central

12th Dan ter Braak -  North 

* Footnote - This team selected from performances that includes 11 seasons - 2009-2010 to 2019-2020


© Copyright 2020 Barrier Daily Truth, All Rights Reserved. ABN: 38 684 603 658