24.9°C 03:00 pm

A Grade Tennis returns

Wednesday, 10th February, 2021

Patrick Reincke (from left), Peter Clark and Nathan Crabb are some of the players who will return to the court this Thursday night for the start of the Open A Grade tennis season. Patrick Reincke (from left), Peter Clark and Nathan Crabb are some of the players who will return to the court this Thursday night for the start of the Open A Grade tennis season.

By Just Wide

Broken Hill’s best tennis players will return to the court for the first time in 2021 as the Open A Grade Summer competition kicks off on Thursday night.

Twenty players have nominated to form six, three-person teams. 

Two of those teams contain an extra player for added flexibility to help deal with the inevitable unavailability of players throughout the competition. 

The Topspins are one of those teams with an extra player and will be led by reigning singles club champion Patrick Reincke. 

He’s joined by the towering Hamish McLean in the number two spot, along with Brady Wauchope and Jade Stanley.

Reincke’s long-time rival Nathan Crabb returns to competition tennis for the first time since tearing his calf mid-way through last year’s Spring competition and captains the Backhands. 

He’ll team up with the unorthodox and industrious Wayne Lee, and crafty veteran Peter Clark.

While Reincke and Crabb are Broken Hill’s premier players at the moment, young gun Josh Niarros is nipping at their heels. 

He made the A Grade singles championship final in 2020 and will be eager to push on to greater honours in 2021. 

Niarros will be Volleys’ number one player with the ever-reliable Andrew Molloy as their number two. 

Both players are superb defensively and are sure to cause opposition teams headaches when they team up in doubles. 

If number three Tyler Hannigan can also contribute, then the Volleys could challenge at the business end of the season.

Corey Pascoe takes charge of the Forehands as he recovers from a wrist injury that scuppered the latter part of his 2020 season. He leads a very experienced team with his father Dale Pascoe and the ever-green Peter Keenan.

The Dropshots, the second four-person team, will be captained by Matt Handberg and he’s joined by Shane Kegel and Steve Gleeson, two shot-makers that can be difficult to handle if they find their range, as well as Brock Dewberry who has improved with each season that he’s been out on the court.

Finally, Bregan Soh steps up into the number one player role for the first time as he leads Adam Hellyer and Tim O’Neil for the Serves. This team could well be a dark horse for the title with Hellyer playing some very good tennis last season and O’Neil being a very handy doubles player with great hands around the net.

Round one sees Topspins take on Backhands, Volleys up against Forehands and the Dropshots tackle the Serves. Players are reminded that they must be on court by 7.15pm on Thursday night.

Men’s Division 1 also gets underway this Wednesday night at 7pm. Contact Nathan Crabb on 0477 640 728 or head along to the O’Neil Park Tennis Courts this Wednesday to nominate.

Mens division 1 draw as follows - Feauties vs Couldabeens, Spin Doctors vs Wild Turkeys, Tydvil vs Macblack.

Ladies tennis takes place every Tuesday night and are always looking for interested players. Contact Jenny Powell on 0417 665 427 for more information.



Topspins - Patrick Reincke, Hamish McLean, Brady Wauchope, Jade Stanley

Backhands -Nathan Crabb, Wayne Lee, Peter Clark

Volleys - Josh Niarros, Andrew Molloy, Tyler Hannigan

Forehands - Corey Pascoe, Dale Pascoe, Peter Keenan

Dropshots - Matt Handberg, Shane Kegel, Brock Dewbery, Steve Gleeson

Serves - Bregan Soh, Adam Hellyer, Tim O’Neil



Topspins v Backhands

Volleys v Forehands

Dropshots v Serves

© Copyright 2021 Barrier Daily Truth, All Rights Reserved. ABN: 38 684 603 658