24.9°C 03:00 pm

The field's set for Council election

Thursday, 5th November, 2009

It's official: 11 people will stand for Mayor in next month's City Council election and 30 will vie for nine Councillor positions.

Nominations for candidates closed at noon yesterday and the order they will appear on the ballot sheet was determined randomly a short time later.

Neville Gasmier and his Labor ticket are the only candidates linked to a political party; the rest are standing as independents.

John Groenendijk will top the Mayoral ballot followed, in order, by Bob Algate, Fred Martin, Ray Steer, Travis Keyser, Neville Gasmier, Trevor Cutjar, Steve Baker, Wincen Cuy, Tom Kennedy and Darren Flowers.

The Councillor ballot comprises five groups and two ungrouped candidates. They are in order of appearance: * Jamie Mitchell, Colin Garrard, Darren Flowers, Dove Howard and Christine Wellings; * Bob Algate, Tom Kennedy, Dave Gallagher, Marie Wecker, Leeann James, Pim Schaaij and Fran McKinnon; * John Groenendijk and Christine Adams; * The Labor ticket: Neville Gasmier, Darriea Turley, Marion Browne, Bill O'Neil, Dick Holland, Maureen Clark, Luke Cripps and Catherine Holland; * Ray Steer, Mike Terry, Alan Tucker, Terry Capper, Mark Kelly and Helen Walton; * Steve Baker, and; * Travis Keyser. The election will be held on December 5.

© Copyright 2021 Barrier Daily Truth, All Rights Reserved. ABN: 38 684 603 658