24.9°C 03:00 pm

Mining for city's next Hall of Fame inductee

Wednesday, 9th January, 2008

Mining for city's next Hall of Fame inductee Mining for city's next Hall of Fame inductee

Nominations are now open for more inductees into the Australian Prospectors and Miners Hall of Fame.

Anyone can nominate an individual or group, alive or dead, for inclusion in the hall of fame at Kalgoorlie and also listed online. Executive Officer, Norma Latchford, said that inductees are recognised from all areas of the minerals industry. 

"Prospectors and miners, scientists and directors, educators and investors have all played an integral part in Australia's mining development," she said. 

"Their pioneering spirit, their colourful personalities, their powers of observation and painstaking research have all helped shape the character and spirit of this nation. 

"The fame the industry has achieved in Australia belongs to all these many hundreds of thousands of people and families." 

A number of locals have already been inducted into the Hall of Fame. Five members of the Broken Hill Flotation Group - Leslie Bradford, August de Bavay, F.J Lyster, T.M Owen and Charles Potter - are in the 'Technologists and Scientists' category along with engineer Arnold Black.

Broken Hill also takes out three of the five listings in the 'Representatives of Labour' category with early unionists Robert Griffin, Richard Sleath and Tom Mann. 

Two locals are in the 'Directors and Management' category - Frank Espie and William Wainwright. Charles Rasp is included in the 'Prospectors and Discoverers' category and Albert Morris is the only inclusion for 'Environmental Work'. 

CFMEU District Vice President, Eddie Butcher, said he thought there were many more locals and former locals that could be inducted. "There should be dozens," he said. "Broken Hill is the mining Mecca of the world."

Mr Butcher encouraged locals to nominate those they have known, past and present. Details of the nominations process can be found online at www.mininghall.com and 2008 nominations close March 31. The key submission is a one or two page biographical sketch of the person.

Once an application is received it will be assessed by members of the selection committee. 

The official categories are; Prospectors and Discoverers, Entrepreneurs and Promoters, Directors and Management, Technologists and Scientists, Government and Administration, Educators, Historians and Journalists, Representatives of Labour, Environmental Care, Safety and Occupational Health, Community Representatives and Heroes.

© Copyright 2021 Barrier Daily Truth, All Rights Reserved. ABN: 38 684 603 658