24.9°C 03:00 pm

National quoits titles

Thursday, 3rd October, 2013

Milton Hawke Junior will be looking to retain his national title in the Men’s Open category. Milton Hawke Junior will be looking to retain his national title in the Men’s Open category.

By Darrin Manuel

Looking for something a little unusual to watch while enjoying a beer over the weekend, sports fans? The Sturt Club may have the answer.

The club is hosting the 66th Australian Singles and Teams Quoits Championships, bringing together some of the finest players in the country.

Around 80 players from Melbourne, Sydney, Ballarat and Bendigo are set compete in singles and teams events across Saturday and Sunday.

Reigning veterans Singles national champion, Milton Hawke Senior, encouraged anyone curious about the sport to come along for free and experience something a little different.

"It's certainly a skill, it's a very unique game," he said.

"It looks easy but it's really not, especially in the big games under pressure - it's pretty tough.

"We urge all past local players and offcourse visitors who have never seen the game played to come in to the Sturt Club and have a look at this unusual sport played by the best quoit throwers in the business."

Milton Hawke Junior will defend his national title in the Open Singles against top players from Victoria, while Milton Snr will have to overcome frontrunners Barb Villotet, Keith Rolfe, Jack McLaughlin and Neil Thompson if he wants to hold onto his Veteran's crown.

"All these players have won Australian titles before so they know what to do", said Milton Snr.

In the Ladies Open Singles local girl Marnie Howe looms as the city's best hope in taking down defending national champion Sue Taylor of Ballarat.

In the teams competition Melbourne currently hold the AGrade title, while Ballarat will be defending their Ladies A-Grade title.

The singles will be played on Saturday from 10am with the grand final to be played at 8pm, and the round robin team competition will be held from 10am Sunday with presentations at

The Broken Hill Rope Quoits Association recently finalised their National Titles teams: A Grade Team: Milton Hawke Jnr, Brendon Knott, Milton Hawke snr, Tom Knott, Chris Christos, Marnie Howe.

B Grade Team 1: Chris Patterson, Dean Meadows, Colin Tonkin, Daniel Knott, Rod Dickens, Frank Picken.

B Grade Team 2: Mathew Dickens, David Knott, Max McRae, Wayne Mathews, Colin Patterson, Aaron Hawke. (Reserves: John Knott, Trevor Picken, Pat Clarke, Adrian Dalby)

Ladies Team 1: Sue Meadows, Deb Farquhar, Jenny Guthrie, Jodie Hawke, Lisa Hazer, Sharon Westley.

Ladies Team 2: Anne Clarke, Bel Westley, Raelene Kennewell, Trina Clarke, Rachael Mew, Britney Westley.

All players must be in the hall no later than 9.30am on Sunday 6th October to start.

All Singles players are required to be available around 9.30am on Saturday.

© Copyright 2021 Barrier Daily Truth, All Rights Reserved. ABN: 38 684 603 658