24.9°C 03:00 pm

West’s B-grade triumph

Monday, 9th March, 2015

Congratulations to West for taking out the B-grade premiership for the third year running.PICTURE: Patrick Reincke Congratulations to West for taking out the B-grade premiership for the third year running.PICTURE: Patrick Reincke

By Patrick Reincke

West Broken Hill Cricket Club made it three B-grade premierships in a row on Saturday with a 47 run win over Warriors at Alma Oval.

Having posted 166 off the designated 40 overs, West were in the driver’s seat from the get go.

Christian Minett and Jordan Meehan opened the batting for West with a respectable 40 run partnership over the first 13 overs.

Bill Bergman broke the partnership when Wade Cowie caught Meehan on 17.

Clint Pearce came to the crease and soon after Minett fell to an lbw. 

Liam King was next to come on and he and Pearce combined to get West’s innings back on track.

As the wickets began to fall again, King remained calm and carried on about his business.

Bergman continued to take wickets and eventually finished with 4/15 off eight.

Daniel McInerney made his way to 24 while King drew closer to a fify.

With just one ball remaining and four runs standing between King and a half-century, a boundary was needed.

King stepped back and swung and sent the ball flying over the over to bring up his fifty and conclude West’s innings.

Chasing 167 to win, Warriors started well with a 35 run partnership between Bergman and West.

Bergman went on to record 45 before he, Cordwell and Pavlich all fell in quick succession.

At 5/69, Eric Underwood attempted to steady ship but soon fell as well.

There was no individual stand-out from West’s bowling line-up with Minett, Jason Milne and Jordan Tonkin all taking two wickets each.

Clint Pearce took three which included Underwood and Shane Dalby. 

Milne claimed the scalp of Bergman and also Pavlich.

A last-wicket partnership between Wade Cowie and Jamahl Carr could not chase down the remaining runs with D. McInerney taking the last wicket and King taking the last catch.

Having finished second and being the underdogs during the grand final, West played exceptionally well and against the tough Warriors.

To win one premiership is special, but to win three in a row is no easy feat and West will be searching for number four next season.




C Minettlbw Neal29

J Meehancaught Cowie bowled Bergman17

C Pearcelbw Bergman16

L Kingnot out52

D Milnelbw Bergman15

J Tonkincaught Neal bowled Bergman0

B McInerneycaught Cowie bowled Underwood1

B Martinbowled Underwood0

D McInerneycaught Pavlich bowled Dalby24

P Henrycaught Cowie bowled Dalby3

J Milnenot out0





J Carr80330

W Cowie81270

S Dalby70292

B Bergman81154

P Neal60371

E Underwood30172




B Bergmancaught Tonkin bowled J Milne45

C Westbowled Tonkin0

S Grovescaught and bowled Pearce0

R Pavlichcaught and bowled J Milne16

C Cordwellbowled C Minett1

P Neallbw C Minett7

E Underwoodbowled Pearce13

S Dalbycaught King bowled Pearce7

T Flowersbowled Tonkin4

W Cowienot out3

J Carrbowled McInerney11





L King10170

J Tonkin80342

C Pearce80333

J Milne50112

C Minett51182

D McInerney2111

J Meehan1050

© Copyright 2020 Barrier Daily Truth, All Rights Reserved. ABN: 38 684 603 658