24.9°C 03:00 pm

Celebrations for Radium Hill reunion

Thursday, 9th April, 2015

Kevin Kakoske conducting the Anzac service in the mining ghost town of Radium Hill over the Easter weekend. Kevin Kakoske conducting the Anzac service in the mining ghost town of Radium Hill over the Easter weekend.

Kevin Kakoske has a passion to preserve the ghost town of Radium Hill’s history and, together with a large like-minded committee, returned there over Easter.

Visitors from as far away as Germany as well as interstate and from the local district also attended to celebrate the 25 years since the first reunion as held. 

Radium Hill started in 1906 and was Australia’s first uranium mine. The town’s population of about 1200 consisted of 35 different nationalities. 

The mine, about 110km south-west of Broken Hill, near Olary, was closed in 1961 and many of its buildings and houses were dismantled and brought to the Silver City. 

On Saturday, workers, relatives and friends were given a conducted tour of the township and mine site, then visited the abandoned Luxemberg mine where a  fascinating water divining demonstration was given.

They later attended a unique Anzac remembrance ceremony conducted by Pam Barrett and Kevin Kakoske. The traditional bugle rendition of The Last Post was played with a harmonica - difficult task well done. A wreath was then laid at the memorial cairn.

Kevin then delivered a graveside eulogy and unveiled a memorial headstone for his brother Douglas, who was a Korean War veteran, in the Radium Hill Pioneers’ Cemetery.

A cabaret and entertainment was held by the campfire that night. A large group of people stayed over Easter at the Radium Hill campground, creating a great atmosphere of friendship and reunion.

© Copyright 2019 Barrier Daily Truth, All Rights Reserved. ABN: 38 684 603 658