24.9°C 03:00 pm

Scouting awards

Monday, 5th February, 2018

Molly Molloy, Billy Lane and Abbie Kelly were awarded top honours for their efforts in 2017. Molly Molloy, Billy Lane and Abbie Kelly were awarded top honours for their efforts in 2017.

The Third Broken Hill Sea Scout’s Joey, Cub and Scout of the Year have been announced.

These annual awards are given to children who display the Scouting values most consistently over the year.

The Scout of the Year was awarded to Billy Lane.

The leaders chose Billy for this award as he is always willing to lend a hand and was a vital part of the fundraising group, attending almost every fundraising activity. Billy was an active member of the group, attending every camp for the year. Billy also became a Patrol Leader and excelled in his badge work, attaining his Pioneer or “Red” cord. Billy always goes “above and beyond” in everything he does.

Molly Molloy was the recipient of the Cub of the Year Award. Molly was an enthusiastic participant in the Cub Pack in 2017. She is a “Sixer”, which is a leader of a group of six cubs. Molly progressed with her badge work over the year and has a high attendance for group activities. Molly is always polite and willing to assist the group and take other Cubs under her wing. 

The Joey of the year was awarded to Abbie Kelly. Abbie was one of only two Joeys who received their Promise Challenge Badge in 2017.

The Promise Challenge is a major challenge for the Joey Scout Section and is the highest Badge that can be awarded to a Joey Scout.

Abbie always followed the Joey Scout motto of “Help Other People” and was an energetic member of the Joey Group. 

Congratulations to Billy, Molly and Abbie, and all of the participants who made 2017 a great year in Scouting.

New faces are always welcome at the 3rd Broken Hill Sea Scouts. If you have a child who is interested in joining our group, please contact the Group Leader, Trevor, on 8088 7907.

© Copyright 2020 Barrier Daily Truth, All Rights Reserved. ABN: 38 684 603 658